Better Safe than Sorry

It’s a simple lesson. One that teachers, parents, and adults in general pound into us when we make a mistake. “Better safe than sorry.” Makes sense, right? It’s better to do more work, go the extra mile, and be on the cautious side than to not do enough. We can’t get away from it when we’re kids, but what about when we are on the cusp of adulthood.

By now, people have stopped telling us that. They figure that we’re old enough, wise enough, and responsible enough to remember those words. But we don’t.

How many of you speed? I don’t mean 5-10 miles of the speed limit. I’m talking 10-20 miles above that posted number. I’m guessing it’s a lot of you. Take today for example. I was following a friend to a team dinner and another person was following me. The girl in front of me was going 50 mph in a 30 mph zone. And as I tried to keep up with them, the guy behind me was right on my butt. After we got to the house, they whined about how I was such a cautious driver. Everyone laughed at me. I’m not kidding. I was getting laughed at for not speeding enough. How messed up is that? What happened to better safe than sorry? These teens are more worried about arriving a couple minutes sooner than their own lives and the lives around them.

I think that my generation needs a refresher course on the true meaning behind “better safe than sorry.” That it’s better to go above and beyond your duties than to cut corners and try to make do. And while you need to keep that in mind, you also shouldn’t let this hold you back. Don’t let this stop you from taking a chance in life, like a new career or a world trip. But don’t be dumbly reckless. You should remember to live, love and make memories.

Leave a Reply

