… Hello Allan

Ever since I started to see Dave as just another person, my mind has been unconsciously searching for a new target. And it seems to have latched onto the worst person for me to see differently. One of my best friend’s ex-boyfriend. He broke up with her and she’s never quite gotten over it.

But he’s amazing. He is goofy, smart and a genuinely nice guy. And if that wasn’t enough, he has a Disney pandora station! I mean, come on! He once spent a whole class period just singing Disney songs. If I had to write down my dream guy, that is definitely one of the qualities. Why does he have to come with that baggage?

At the beginning of the year, I had no interest in him. I was wrapped up in Dave and he was just a nice guy. Then we started sitting next to each other. Every day, he talks to me, makes me feel incredible no matter how crummy the day, and helps me when I get confused. He’s sweet and dorky and cute in his own way. And I shouldn’t like him.

I have only a couple of months left in the school year and then we will be separating to different school in different states. The best I can hope for is that we continue to become better friends. And as much as I want to deny that I don’t like him any more than as a friend, this ache in my chest, knowing that I won’t see home for a week, tells me otherwise.

Why me?

Leave a Reply

